Tuesday, June 17, 2008

2008 Miles Franklin Literary Award

Without Michelle de Kretser's The Lost Dog on the shortlist I've kind of lost interest in and therefore track of the Miles this year, but have been reminded today that the dinner at which the announcement will be made (by Geoffrey Rush, I believe) is on Thursday night.

There's a shortlist of five -- Gail Jones' Sorry, Steven Carroll's The Time We Have Taken, David Brooks' The Fern Tattoo, Alex Miller's Landscape of Farewell and Rodney Hall's Love Without Hope. I'm tipping Carroll.


  1. With your track record in picking the prizewinner, Kerryn, I am backing your prediction...

  2. And so it is! How do you do it?

  3. Not sure.

    Combination of long experience, careful observation and pure arse, I think.